U.S. Senior Open Week in South Bend

Already have all the information you need to book a trip to The Bend from June 24-30 for the U.S. Senior Open? Perfect. You’ll find everything else right here.


Hotel accommodations: CLICK HERE

Now let us tell you about this event, where two traditions in sports collide in The Bend this summer.

Many of golf’s legendary names will descend on Warren Golf Course at the University of Notre Dame in late June for the U.S. Senior Open. It marks the first time the U.S. Senior Open has been held on a college campus — and it’s not just any campus.

Championship history

Roberto De Vicenzo in 1980 won the first U.S. Senior Open. Since then several golf icons have hoisted the Francis Ouimet trophy.

Arnold Palmer won in 1981. Gary Player emerged victorious in 1987 and 1988. Lee Trevino captured the title in 1990. Jack Nicklaus won in 1991 and 1993. Other past winners include Hal Irwin (twice), Fred Funk, Tom Weiskopf, Bernhard Langer, Kenny Perry (twice) and Colin Montgomerie.

David Toms is the defending champion after holding off three players by one stroke at Broadmoor Golf Club in 2018.

Current star power

Who can we expect to test themselves at Warren Golf Course? Many of the Champions Tour’s best players.

Miguel Angel Jimenez, Tim Petrovic and Jerry Kelly all finished within one stroke of Toms at Broadmoor. Here are more notables that participated in 2018:

Lee Janzen (eight PGA Tour wins, including two U.S. Open titles)
Davis Love III (21 PGA Tour wins, including one PGA Championship)
Vijay Singh (34 PGA Tour wins, including three major championships)
Bernhard Langer (42 European Tour wins, two-time Masters champion)
Colin Montgomerie (31 European Tour wins)
Fred Couples (15 PGA Tour wins, including the Masters)

Others worth mentioning: Tom Lehman, Rocco Mediate, Tom Kite, Fred Funk, Jesper Parnevik, Hale Irwin.